Fourteen of the 24 members of the Madzibaba Ishamea Mufani’s Johanne Masowe Church have finally walked out of remand prison after initially failing to raise $100 bail, while 10 of their co-accused were granted bail at the magistrates’ courts.

The 14 appeared before Harare magistrate Donald Ndirowei for their routine remand hearing yesterday and their next hearing is on July 1.

Ndirowei also granted bail to 10 more Vapositori who were still in custody over the same public violence charges.

The 10, Milton Murinda, Dennis Banda, John Mutasa, Nathan Shamuyarira, Prayer Parira, Gilbert Madyira, Madzimure Madzimure, Darlington Mambayo, Charles Matanga and Alexio Manhanga were represented by Obey Shava and Tawanda Takaendesa.

They are jointly charged with 24 others who were granted bail over the same charges of public violence.

Ndirowei considered the recent High Court ruling on the same case before granting the accused persons $100 bail.
As part of bail conditions, the 10 were ordered to reside at their given addresses and report once a week at Harare Central Police Station.

Allegations against the accused persons arose on May 30 when an entourage led by Apostolic Christian Council of Zimbabwe (ACCZ) president Archbishop Johannes Ndanga, that included police officers and journalists, was beaten up by the sect members.

This was after Ndanga had read out a letter banning the church on allegations of abusing women and children.

The congregants challenged the ACCZ leader to read his speech in Shona, claiming they were not familiar with English.

During their bail application, Shava complained about the State’s reluctance to investigate assault allegations which Vapositori raised against the police during their initial court appearance.

He confirmed the release of the 14 and said their wives were making efforts to secure money for the release of the remaining 10.

Shava said the 10 might be released any time soon because there was a well-wisher who had promised to bail them out.
Justice Esther Muremba last week ordered the release of the 24 on $100 bail.

The 24 are Emmanuel Sigauke, 37, Laston Marandure, 23, John Murahwa, 36, Taurayi Supiya, 36, Shadreck Mashonganyika, 25, Robert Paradzayi, 35, Tafa Chakwara, 36, Kudzanai Tichaona Kusekwa, 31, Cabson Chandaona, 43, Alton Makando, 31, Ashton Chinhoyi, 31, Abisha Mutandwa, 30, Brian Machingura, 18, Nathan Muparadzi, 39, Takavengwa Gwenzi, 46, Tichafa Madyegure, 41, Munaro Singadi, 42, Ziwanayi Nyatikonde, 30, Johannes Makumbe, 39, Paul Mupikata, 32, Simango Mharadza, 45, Tachiva Munemo, 37, Regis Bute, 31, and Clephas Muwona.

See related reading:

Vapostori languish in jail

Masowe members run riot,beat up anti-riot cops